Welcome to diagramware


We are developing diagrammatic systems. A new generation of learning systems.

As opposed to textual content, like formulae, these new systems constitute visual languages. Such languages build upon grammars like other languages. However, instead of alphanumeric symbols geometric entities are employed. Their concatenations form the words of these visual languages.

In this way, complex mathematical relations are mapped onto visual structures, which are more easily comprehensible than formulae. They entail a new and rich mental conception in the mind of the student.

Until now, diagramware investigated such visual languages for set theory, logic, and probability theory.

Lerning-App: P(X)


 

P(X) is an app that introduces a visual language for probability theory. Its strength is the diagrammatic display of mathematical knowledge. This requires much space. While a smartphone display is too small, this app has been developed for the iPad.

Mehr erfahren

Image

Mathematik in Strichen

An alternative textbook


Dr. Björn Gottfried, the founder of diagramware, has written a textbook on the introduction to probability theory. It presents a diagrammatic language explaining the foundations of probability theory and statistics.

It is the first diagrammatic textbook of its kind and therefore differs from all established textbooks. It is particularly suitable for self-study because of the visual structure of this approach.

Mehr erfahren

Willkommen bei diagram­ware


Wir entwickeln diagrammatische Sys­teme, eine neue Generation von Lern­sys­temen.

Im Gegensatz zu textuellen Dar­stel­lungen, wie mathe­matischen For­meln, stellen diese Lernsysteme visuelle Sprachen dar. Solche Sprachen sind wie natürliche Sprachen aus einer Gram­matik aufgebaut. Nur benutzt man anstelle von Buch­staben geometrische Ele­mente. Deren Ver­knüp­fungen bilden die Worte dieser visuellen Sprache.

Ihr Vorteil besteht darin, dass kom­pli­zier­te Zusam­menhänge auf vi­su­el­le Strukturen abgebildet werden. Diese sind verständlicher als mathe­ma­tische Formeln. Damit entwickelt sich beim Lernenden eine neue mentale Vor­stel­lungs­welt.

Bisher hat diagramware solche dia­gram­matischen Spra­chen für die Men­gen­lehre, Logik und Wahr­schein­lich­keits­theorie erforscht. 

Lern-App: P(X)


P(X) stellt eine visuelle Sprache der Wahrscheinlichkeits­theorie dar. Da ihre Stärke die diagrammatische Dar­stellung von Sachverhalten ist, wurde P(X) für das iPad entwickelt. Denn die grafische Dar­stellung nimmt viel Raum in Anspruch und soll darüber hinaus einfach zu bedienen sein. Dies wäre auf einem kleinen Smartphone-Display nicht möglich.

-->

Image

Mathematik in Strichen

Alternatives Lehr­buch


Dr. Björn Gottfried, der Gründer von diagramware, hat ein Buch zur Einführung in die Wahr­schein­lich­keits­theorie verfasst. Dieses stellt eine diagrammatische Sprache vor, mit der die Grundlagen der Wahr­schein­lich­keits­theorie sowie Ansätze der Statistik erklärt werden.

Es ist das erste diagram­matische Lehr­buch seiner Art und unterscheidet sich daher von allen eta­blier­ten Lehr­büchern. Es eignet sich wegen des visuellen Aufbaus dieses Ansatzes vor allem auch zum Selbststudium.

-->